Pennies

In looking for inspiration tonight, I opened up a journal that houses my favorite quotes from all my other journals.  (Yeah, I know how that just sounded and no, I do not have a collection of dusty journals that cross-reference each other….I threw the old ones away once I pulled my favorite things out of them.  Moving on…)  The page I landed on has 4 quotes and each of them is speaking to where I’ve been.

“Most people plan their vacations better than they plan their lives.” ~unknown

This is me.  I grew up in Central Florida and went to Disney once or twice a year.  I could probably draw you a map of the Magic Kingdom and only miss a few rides (just the boring ones that nobody goes on anyway).  Despite this working knowledge, when we took our daughter for the first time, I created a three ring binder itinerary for every day and every detail.  It covered everything from reservations to menus at the restaurants.  Menus!  My daughter is now 11 and guess what I haven’t planned in those 11 years.  A college fund, a vacation fund, what middle school she should attend, what she’s having for lunch tomorrow….  I have all of these mad planning skills and I’ve yet to use them for the things that REALLY matter.

“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.  If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time.” ~Zig Zigler

Bullseye!  You know that whole planning thing we just talked about?  Yeah, so you’ve gathered we’re not aiming at much right now.  Never miss!

“You’re either getting better or you’re getting worse.  You never stay the same” ~Drew Brees

That’s comforting.  So much for coasting through life.  I guess it should be obvious, you have to be going downhill to coast as uphill requires you to step on the gas or exert some effort.  If you’re keeping score, that’s: No plans, no target and getting worse.

“Vision without action is a fantasy.  Action without vision is chaos.” ~unknown

This is what brings it all home for me.  I have vision.  I can dream up the life I want to have, the different businesses I’d love to start, the way we’d all feel with that kind of security…. but moving into action is the hard part.  And those times I have taken action, it’s usually without a goal/target, but rather moving for the sake of moving because it’s what I “should” do.

I’m imagining at this point you’re either thinking, “Good god, shut up and get your shit together already,” or you’re nodding your head along with me because this is you too.  Either way, the good news is I AM ready to get my shit together and you can too.  It’s not going to be easy, but it’s not going to be hard either if we tackle a little every day.  You see, most the time the problem isn’t that we can’t, it’s that we don’t even try because the task seems SO large.  But a little intention every day adds up over time — just like those bank accounts that round up your purchases to the next whole dollar and stuff those pennies in savings.  You don’t miss the pennies, but before you know it those pennies have made lots of friends and are having a little party in your account.

It’s time to find the pennies.  Think of one area in your life that needs improvement and pick a small, 10-30 min task that will move you towards the target TODAY.  Don’t overthink.  This is as simple as “I want to declutter my entire house so I’m going to go through A drawer today” or “I need to socialize more so I’m going to call a friend and schedule a coffee date for later this week”.  Pennies.

2 thoughts on “Pennies

Leave a Reply

