Princess Pinups

Most nights, before my daughter goes to bed, you can find our family of 3 huddled up on the couch watching an episode of Once Upon A Time — a TV series that puts a modern twist on traditional fairy tales.  We were slow to catch on to this show, but were immediately hooked when Netflix gave us the opportunity to start from Season 1.

ouatmaryRecently I sat down wanting to “create”, but didn’t really have anything in mind.  Would I paint? Build? Draw? Do some interpretive dance? (that last one was a joke) Turns out drawing was the answer.  But what to draw?  Having just finished an episode of Once, I decided to pull from it for inspiration.  Snow White, played by Ginnifer Goodwin, is one of the main characters and is mostly seen in “today’s” world with a short pixie-like haircut.  As is the case with most of the characters on the show, this departure from such an iconic image had me thinking of other ways princesses could be portrayed.  I know it’s not the most original idea, but I landed on vintage pinup girls.

The following is what came out as I sat with paper, the most basic of Crayola color pencils and a fine-tipped black marker.  I found a pinup online that acted as my “model” and I dressed her as I imagined Snow might be found in that setting.  I know similar have been done, but each artist has their own unique take and, for now, I’m enjoying mine.  In fact, you just might see more princess pinups from me in the near future.  For now, here’s Ms White:

Snow Pinup.JPG

And a quick update…since I first wrote this, I’ve also finished Princess Pinup Ariel:

img_7366

Leave a Reply

