Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Shoe Carnival

There are some things about my wife (and women in general) I may never understand. (Today’s blog is sponsored by Captain Obvious)

Today I installed some shelves in Mandy’s walk-in closet.  Since I had to throw everything OUT of the closet to make this happen….and all of her shoes have been sitting in a pile in our bedroom for months (oops) waiting for these shelves…I decided to go ahead and put everything back IN the closet while cleaning up (despite her wishes that I leave it for her to do….I just couldn’t do it).  What I discovered is WOMAN GOT SOME SHOES!  I’m not exaggerating, she has over 90 pairs.  Granted, that covers the ever-widening spectrum of boots, booties, wedges, heels, sneakers, slip-ons, sandals, sneakers, etc… BUT STILL.

I can get beyond the number (kinda), but what I can’t understand is why she needs 2 pairs of leopard print wedges that are only SLIGHTLY different?  And 3 pairs of the same color wedge booties with fringe….one flat, one wedge, one small heel.  There are 2 pairs of black boots that I actually paired up with the wrong partner because the only difference was their texture … which I only knew from feeling, not looking.  I don’t understand this.  ha!

However, I don’t need to understand it.  It doesn’t have to make sense in my mind if it makes sense in hers.  I’m sure she wonders why I need 4 pair of the same shorts (my favorite) or a box full of paintbrushes when I only use 4 or 5 or a shelf full of books I’ve already read and will probably never read again…and another of books I want to read, but haven’t in the 5 years they’ve been sitting there.  The point is … we are different and that’s ok.  If we were exactly alike, life would be pretty boring.  AND we’d probably fight over shorts and build a wall made out of books.

Learn to embrace your differences and attempt to understand them.  In some cases, you might even be able to be a part of them ….like installing a shelf for the great wall of shoes (or buying her a pair for Christmas…guilty!)  Most importantly, even if you can’t embrace it, unless it’s hurting somebody, just let it go.  You be you and let them be them.  You’ll both be happier for it.

img_7751

Leave a Reply

