Joy To My World

One of my oldest friends came to town this week.  We’ve been friends since 1st Grade (over 30 years…yikes) and are really more family than friends.  Except we like each other, which is usually not the case with family haha

I invited her to attend one of my fitness classes and, much to my surprise, she came.  It meant a lot for her to see me in that world.  It’s such a huge part of who I am and who I’ve been for the last 8 years so having one of my besties witness it first-hand vs just hearing about it was pretty special.

Afterwards, we hung out at lunch with her husband and kiddos.  I was reminded how important it is to have these types of relationships.  Someone you may not talk to every day, but know without a shadow of a doubt, if everyone else in life failed you, you could show up at their door and they’d take you in.  I think we all have those relationships to some extent, but having one that goes back over 30 years feels pretty priceless.

Treasure your friends.

2 thoughts on “Joy To My World

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. Such friends are rare gems and not everybody has the privilege of having them – obviously because they are rare.
    I have three besties who are as you described and I may not have stayed friends with them for an astonishing 30 years!! but my 7 year friendship with two and 16 year friendship with the last one (one of my elder brothers. It’s one thing to be siblings. It’s another to be friends with a sibling) so far has been great.

    You’re right. We should treasure our friends.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

