Omming with Oprah

Tomorrow I’m taking part in a 21 day meditation led by Deepak Chopra and Oprah. The topic is: Hope in Uncertain Times …and it could not be more timely.  The world around us seems to be going batshit crazy and my own personal life isn’t much better.  I can’t wait to begin this journey and SEE IT THROUGH the full 21 days.  I emphasize that because I’ve joined one of these before and made it about 4 days before I “forgot” about it.  This time I’ve enlisted some accountability via a handful of like-minded friends who will be joining me for the experience.

I guess I should probably back up a bit and say I’m not someone who regularly meditates, but I believe in its benefits.  I’ve never done a guided meditation (other than my 4 day fail mentioned above), but I did take Wayne Dyer’s tip to sit quietly and meditate when feeling tired.  This seemed counterproductive to me as I’m more likely to fall asleep if I close my eyes in an effort to stay away, but it works.  Numerous times I’ve had to work on paintings late into the night and I would crisscross applesauce on the floor in my living room to give my body a 10 min break when I felt like I just couldn’t do it anymore.  But 10 min later and I was ready to go!

As you may have read in a previous post, I’ve also come to love floating in sensory deprivation tanks as a way to relax, relieve muscle tension and almost force meditation upon myself in the non-sensory environment.  An hour and a half without stimulation leaves you with a very peaceful and more creative mind.

I can’t wait to see what Hope in Uncertain Times does for me over the next 21 days.  It’s not too late to join: REGISTER HERE

Leave a Reply

