Harry Potter and The Symphony Orchestra

Being the music lover that I am, it’s no surprise that I would enjoy a visit to the symphony.  It does, however, have to be a performance of something that interests me or I’m pretty much over it by song 2.  So when I heard the Nashville Symphony Orchestra would be performing a concert series around the Harry Potter movies (something else I’m a big fan of), I wasn’t just interested, I was excited.

Twice a year over the next 4 years, you can go to the Schermerhorn Symphony Hall in Nashville and watch a Harry Potter movie on the big screen while the symphony orchestra plays the soundtrack/score live.  It.is.ah.mazing!

A movie score is typically so well integrated into the movie that you don’t even notice it’s there.  I mean, you go to a movie to see the story, not hear the music….despite the major role music can play in the overall experience.  Hearing the symphony bring it to the forefront is, not only a treat to the ear, but also a wake up call to how little of the movies is actually void of music.

In January, we went for Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone and last week we returned for Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets.  And yes, we’ll be going back for the next 3 years to finish out the series.  You should too!

symphony

img_6186img_6190img_6192img_6196

Leave a Reply

