Cotton Paddle

I should be drinking water and instead of drinking beer.
I should be eating vegetables and instead I’m eating pizza.
I should be going to bed and instead I’m about to watch an hour of tv.
Story of my life.

If you have a child, you are probably a master at telling someone else how to live “right”.  You don’t allow them to have too much sugar, you make them go to bed at the same time every night, you make sure their teeth are brushed, clothes are clean, and on and on and on…  So why is it so hard to do the same for yourself?

Why can I not stick to the same “only one sweet/day” rule that I enforce on my daughter?  Why can’t I sit down and tackle my to-do list with the same focus that I require of her homework?  Quite simply, it’s because I don’t “have” to and she does.

I don’t have anyone telling me what to do.  I don’t have my dad standing over me with a punishment should I not clean my room.  I don’t lose tomorrow’s dessert if I eat two today.  But what I DO get is fatter if I eat too much, disorganized if I don’t clean, late charges if I don’t pay my bills, fired if I don’t go to work…. There ARE punishments in adult life, but we (or at least I) hold them to a different standard than the ones we had when we were young.  Ironically, the grown up consequences can be far greater than our adolescent woes, but we shrug them off like a kid who’s padded his pants before a belt whippin’.  (I never did that, by the way)

Why is it so easy to ignore the damage we’re causing ourselves?  What kind of hurt does it take before we learn from our mistakes?  I don’t know the answer to that because I keep making the same mistakes.  The biggest one is SITTING ON MY ASS instead of doing what I know needs to be done.

What butt-padding do you need removed today so you feel the full sting of your actions?

Leave a Reply

